Sweet like Chocolate

Since it is the weekend and we are all in the mood for a treat, I just had to share with you a highlight of our holiday. Visiting a chocolate factory in Switzerland! Mmmmmm…..

We drove over to Switzerland from Evian one day and paid 10 euros to get into to the Nestle factory. It turns out Nestle, a French guy and also Cailler, a Swiss guy (maybe?) joined forces to make a company. Of course over here, we have Nestle and I seem to recognise Cailler too? What you think?

We learnt all about the history of the company and how chocolate was made. We even got to try the ingredients, like the cocoa butter, nuts, almonds and cocoa beans…

Me trying a very bitter cocoa bean!

We got to see the chocolates being made.. as the chocolate gets mixed and then made into sizeable chunks….

My kind of machinery!

If you have ever been to Cadbury’s World you will know that you also learn about the history of the chocolate and how it is made. You also get to take some chocolates away with you to eat – but that’s just like having free bars as is from a shop. Even though I must admit, they also had a room where you got a free pot of melted chocolate and could choose you own sweet/crumble/biscuit topping – that was pretty cool. But at this chocolate factory there was an actual tasting room to try every type of chocolate that they make. A way for me to easily get my 10 euros back haha. I felt a bit like I was at Willy Wonka’s factory without the shrinking or blowing up like a blueberry part. It was great, there was a whole row of just milk, dark, white and nutty solid chocolates. That was to ease you in because you went round the other side and there was all the fancy pants stuff like truffles, caramels and lovely soft centred ones. That was my lunch that day – it was soooo good!

The Tasting Room. Remember if you recognise any of these lucky choc munchers, like I mentioned in my post Photographic Memories on Friday, then let me know!

Yummy, oh just one more then!

So yes it was a great day and I fully recommend this if you are over that part of the world. It is definitely worth the ten euros. In comparison to Cadbury’s World (which I also fully recommend and one that I would definitely go to again since I live in that part of the country) it is cheaper but the tour isn’t as long and there isn’t quite as much to see. But the tasting room, as I say, is definitely worth it and you can spend as long as you want int there. There is also advice on how to taste and saviour the chocolate properly haha… I tried that ‘advice’ for like two chocolates and then gobbled the rest. To me chocolate is best in chunks, dipped into a hot mug of tea so that it melts… Mmmmmm….

The best question that came up that day was:

As you can see the translation underneath… For you, when is it time for chocolate? This was a room with a writing shelf so that you could write your answer and then fasten it to a display board. I answered… ‘anytime, anywhere!’  What would you say?

I have used lots of photos today, as you can see. That is because I can describe the gorgeous, velvety chocolate in thousands of words but I think you need to see it to fully appreciate its glory!

Enjoy a nice evening with a chocolate or two… or what am I kidding, five at least!

See you tomorrow,

XSXS

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tina Holmes
    Sep 02, 2012 @ 06:52:13

    What an amazing place – if you could stay in the tasting room as long as you like how come you came home at all? I would still be there!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Happy Feast-er! | I'm not gossiping... (I'm networking!)

Leave a Reply

