Time to Write

I actually felt really excited to write tonight. That is the reason for writing a blog, I realised. The want to write. That yearning to get your ideas out there. I mentioned a few days ago that I had been thinking about rejigging my blog or starting a new one. I am not going to do anything just yet as I am going to follow some advice that I read in a fellow blogger’s post. It is important to read blogs as much as write them. The advice that I read in Christian Mihai’s post ‘The 7 Golden Rules of Blogging,’ that said no matter what you write or how often, you should stick it out for a year. So that is what I plan to do and then decided on an extra blog or whatever. I will reblog his post actually after this as there are some great tips for bloggers in it.

The reason that I get excited about, well words really, at this time of year is because the clocks change. Time changes. It reminds me of one of my favourite lines from a poem. Carol Ann Duffy’s poem Mean Time:

‘The clocks slid back an hour

and stole light from my life’

I love this and it shows how that one hour can make such a difference. Every year when we put the clocks back I look at this poem. I go into my study and dig out my poetry collection also named Mean Time. I studied it at A level and it is a great collection of poetry. I sometimes get it out when the clocks go forward to and remember the reverse of how we gain light. I always remember which way round with the old saying ‘Spring forward, Fall back.’ Using the Americanised word for Autumn of ‘Fall’ helps me to remember that along with the leaves falling off the trees, the clocks fall back an hour. Yes, they slide back as Duffy so brilliantly puts it. They steal light from our life. The nights get darker. Funnily enough, the Britons always think of the positive in this case of ‘oooh we get an extra hour in bed!’ The bright side of a situation?! Mmmm very unlike us!

Duffy’s poem is quite depressing really but has some very interesting ideas about life and time. She says ‘these are the shortened days’ meaning that in general life is short and her references to death; ‘we will be as dead, as we know’ and ‘endless nights’ tell us that death is forever. It is life that has the time limit. Very depressing thought in one way but makes sure we make the most of life, I guess. She also talks about if the sky could lift one hour away from her life then that hour could have been full of angry words to her lover and that could have been the hour that was taken away; ‘If the darkening sky could lift/ more than one from this day/there are words I would never have said.’ It would be great if we could choose which hour of life got taken away… or which hour we gained. At A level we looked at the different meanings of ‘mean time’. Like it can mean ‘mean’ as in average. Average time. Life is just average. Or it can mean ‘mean’ as in cruel and that life is cruel to us. Very interesting poem and I recommend you take a look.

But in the mean time, what will you do with your extra hour?

XSXS

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Mulgrew
    Oct 27, 2012 @ 22:36:50

    The blogging for a year thing certainly has a lot of merit to it. You will find that a lot of people won’t “like” or start following you blog until they have come across it more than once.

    Think about the way you buy magazines. You only consider subscribing when you have read it several times.

    Now you mention it I’m tempted to go check how long my blog has been running. I’d suspect though that my blog is a bad example as its mostly technical info and I don’t write regularly. I don’t really push mine out to the bloggosphere but I do get a lot of hits from people looking for technical info.

    Reply

  2. homecoming dresses 2011
    Oct 28, 2012 @ 05:17:24

    As a Newbie, I am constantly searching online for articles that can be of assistance to me. Thank you

    Reply

  3. Roger Tharpe
    Nov 02, 2012 @ 03:09:59

    According to the Bible the diligent maketh rich.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Time Never Stops « I'm not gossiping… (I'm networking!)
  5. Edmundo Matteo
    Nov 26, 2012 @ 17:51:49

    I just want to tell you that I am beginner to blogging and site-building and honestly liked this web blog. Almost certainly I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You absolutely have exceptional article content. Thanks for revealing your web site.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Inbetween the Seasons… | I'm not gossiping... (I'm networking!)

Leave a Reply

