Scared of a word?

I was looking though some old writing today. I love the thought of having special notebooks that collect my thoughts and are tightly packed away between crisp pages and a decorative cover (not that we should judge by said cover). In modern society, it doesn’t always work like that though. Sometimes, I will be mid Ebay bid or mid Facebook update when I am on the laptop and I get a thought or an idea. I could scramble around for my special notebook and then a pen (that works) in order to put these thoughts into visible words…… or I could just click and open a Microsoft Word document. I know, I know, this saddens me more than anything. But the things is, all my blogs are straight from a plastic keyboard too. I wish that I had the time and patience to write my blogs by hand in a lovely notebook beforehand so that they would survive generation after generation (if people actually wanted to read it by then!) but it just isn’t always feasible.

So yes, even though I do have pretty notebooks – and I do use them for poetry mainly – it was my Word documents that I was looking through today and I had much fun creating new files of ‘stories’, ‘articles’, ‘blog posts’ (yes I don’t completely trust one site to keep all my work so I do copy and paste sometimes – if there is an easier way, let me know!) and ‘random rambling and extracts’. It is from the latter file that I want to share with you today. Sometimes I just think of a topic, or a theme from a book, or a feeling. It doesn’t become a poem or a story – it doesn’t always need to  – it is an undeveloped, baby of the writing world if you will. A rambling. An extract. This particular one was about a word… or a genre depending how you look at it. See what you think:

Horror

‘Horror. Oh the horror. Even the word sounds like the meaning in a kind of onomatopoeic way. The sound of a breathy voice, releasing fear from its lips. Hanging in the air like a shivery mist. A bit like horrible and terror combined. And the ‘o’s in the word are like open, wide mouths screaming for their life. Also, as the ‘r’s face to the right; they look as if they want to run away.  To escape. From something. From the horror.’

Yes, it’s short and I’d like to develop it more really. You could describe a whole series of words. With things like this, too, I am going to add them to my pretty notebooks – call it a New Year’s Resolution 😉 you’ll be hearing more off me about resolutions, too, as I love the whole turn of a new year and the self reflection  we can do and improvements we can make within our self.

But for now, we need to not be scared of the written word and not just type. But write. In flowing ink. Let it run away with you… just like the horror 😉

XSXS

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: A Book Lover’s Post « I'm not gossiping… (I'm networking!)

Leave a Reply

