Happy Feast-er Part 2

Along with all the lovely food and drink that we buy at Easter, people seem to have wanted to get involved with baking this year in order to make even more yummy Easter treats. And I’m not just talking about cakes. But chocolate, Creme egg Brownies. They seem to be all the craze this Easter so I just had to make my blog post a two parter and share it with you. The recipe and the photos that is – not the brownies themselves I’m afraid 😉

I think they have been popular because they combine our favourite things about chocolate and indulgence. They are typically Eastery because they have the Creme egg in but are also gooey and chocolatey and comforting. Perfect for the cold Easter we have had. They will also go amazingly well with ice-cream as a dessert (loved by adults and kids alike). And of course they aren’t just for Easter but can be made purposefully as a yummy treat. I was going to say they are great to ‘use’ up ‘left-over’ Creme eggs, but that is crazy! Left over? Use up? I bought a six-pack especially for the occasion!

egg brownie 5

I saw this on a friend’s Facebook… I like the choppiness of these ones!

My boyfriend and I made some this morning – it was nice to bake together really. I think it was the first time we had done that actually. Spilt sugar, lack of electric whisk and a messy kitchen aside…. it was a pleasant experience with a delicious looking outcome. I feel a fraud really because I haven’t tried one yet. But like lots of others, I saw previous pics and just had to make them – so you don’t need my word of mouth dribbling with saliva. You’ll probably want to make them anyway.

Here’s the recipe:

AMAZING CADBURY’S CREME EGG BROWNIES! (This was the title that I found on Facebook. I can’t argue with the excitable enthusiasm, capitalisation or exclamation mark…)

  •  185g unsalted butter
  • 185g best dark chocolate
  • 85g plain flour
  • 40g cocoa powder
  • 3 large eggs
  • 275g  caster sugar
  •  6 Cadbury’s Crème eggs cut in half. (we put them in the freezer for a couple of hours – which apparently makes them easier to cut.)
  1. Preheat the oven to 160C (Gas mark 5)  and grease a 20 cm square baking tin. (we lined with baking paper)
  2. Melt the butter and dark chocolate together either in the microwave or in a bowl over boiling water.
  3.  Break 3 large eggs into a large bowl and tip in 275g caster sugar. With an electric mixer on maximum speed, whisk the eggs and sugar until they look thick and creamy, like a milk shake. This can take 3-8 minutes. (or 20 if you don’t have an electric whisk – but we figured it was burning off the looming calories!)You will know it’s ready when the mixture becomes really pale and about double its original volume.
  4. Pour the cooled chocolate mixture over the eggy mousse, and then gently fold together.
  5. Hold a sieve over the bowl of eggy chocolate mixture and sift the cocoa and flour mixture, shaking the sieve from side to side, to cover the top evenly.
  6. Gently fold in to the mixture.
  7. Pour into the baking tin and cook for 15 minutes then take out of the over and gently press the Cadbury’s Creme egg halves into the mix, spacing them apart evenly.
  8. Put back in the over for another 5-10 minutes.
  9.  Leave to cool before removing from tin and cutting into squares.
Our version - it made 6. Two are waiting to be eaten with ice-cream this tea time :D

Our version – it made 6. Two are waiting to be eaten with ice-cream this tea time 😀

This was a version another friend made….

egg brownies

These are neat ones made by my boyfriend’s brother and girlfriend…..

egg brownnie 3

My sister made these. I did make fun because I thought they looked odd – but now I look again, I like how they have all the little eggs in. (She used caramel ones too).

So yes, I’ve acquired an unhealthy obsession with Creme egg brownies (and other people’s Facebook pics!) Luckily I haven’t eaten all these… or I wouldn’t be here to tell the sickly tale! But some baking inspiration for you all 😀

Keep feasting… 😉

XSXS

Leave a Reply

