Ironic Writing Block

Regular readers among you will realise that I haven’t been posting as much recently. I could claim that it’s lack of time; I should say it’s because I’m busy writing a great novel; I would say both of these. But it’s not true – and I like to be honest in my blog if nothing else. I’ve had writer’s block and a lack of inspiration.

My GBF text me today and said he had listened to a debate on Radio 4 about writer’s block. I am not sure what what was said in detail – but it would be great to hear your theories and what you do when you have it? Like an illness in the writing world really! Stopping us doing what we need to do…

So, this inspired me to write a block and naturally, I picked up on the fact that a subject of writer’s block had helped to cure mine. This also led me onto the other topic of this post: Irony. I love irony, and I think it is a great tool that helps us laugh at the world and life when things go wrong.

When kids at school ask me what irony is, I rarely try to explain it without referring to Alanis Morrisette’s titled song Ironic I think it sums it up perfectly… one of my favourite lines being;
‘10,000 spoons when all you need is a knife…’

Love it! And with other lines like ‘It’s like rain on your wedding day…’ (but I don’t think this can be classed as ironic in the UK – since it rains most blooming days!) …. ‘It’s like meeting the man of your dreams then meeting his beautiful wife!’ Fantasic lyrics and so true that the one thing you don’t want to happen, or don’t need or you don’t think will happen – does.

The actual dictionary definition of something being ‘ironic’ is as follows:
‘Happening in the opposite way to what is expected, thus typically causing wry amusement.

So go on and spot the irony in your life. It helps to make the hard times a little more bearable, if not slightly funny. And yes, I love how the first thought of writer’s block (thanks to my GBF) gave me an idea for this today….. love the irony!

P.S if you do have writer’s block, just tell people. I have had a million ideas thrown at me now (thanks to another good friend!) so my writing mind has become unblocked 😀

Spot the irony in the apple!

Spot the irony in the apple!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Mulgrew
    May 14, 2013 @ 18:46:04

    I find the best way to beat writers block is to start writing crap about nothing and anything. It starts the flow and then it starts to make sense. Then you just have to go back and edit the first paragraph.

    Saying that I’m hardly a man of few words

    Reply

  2. Sam Gray
    May 14, 2013 @ 19:14:50

    Yeh I think you have most of Kenny’s words! lol. yeh writing anything and everything is a good idea !

    Reply

  3. David Mulgrew
    May 14, 2013 @ 19:19:14

    I have just thought of an excellent topic for you next blog post.

    “Men and women are not equal”

    To elaborate a little. As you know I don’t agree with the concept that all people are equal. I do believe on balance that men are not better than women and vice versa. I think our differences should be celebrated not denied. This applies to any for of group comparison as far as I am concerned. eg gay – straight, black white.etc etc etc.but to stick to the men vs women argument…

    Firstly I will say that discrimination should be avoided. We should not assume a woman is physically weaker because she is a woman but we SHOULD acknowledge that this is usually the case

    My big issue with everyone against discrimination is that they shout about how we are all equal and that just isn’t true. I think this devalues a groups natural strengths. What they should be doing is shouting about what their group is better at.

    So as a start go write an article on what women are better at than men forget about all the common stereotypes and find some stuff that most people don’t know about

    You could then in another article extend this to other groups who often get the short end of the discrimination stick. For example people with sight will never appreciate music like a blind person.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

