Moral to the story

There is a moral to every story, they say. I believe this and that a part of life is learning from things. From childhood, we learn in fairy tales that the baddies don’t come off good and that everything will be alright in the end. (We also may learn that this a bit unrealistic too πŸ˜‰ ) The point is, we learn that what goes around comes around and that their are consequences to actions.

I mentioned a while ago that I have a Nook. I acted even more like a crazy book lady the other night and downloaded a load of ‘classic’ reads. Amongst them was Aesop’s Fables. I remember reading some of them as a child, having a beautiful coloured version littered with pictures. But I didn’t realise until adulthood, that Aesop was a slave believed to have lived in ancient Greece. Amazing, that they are still so well-known and relevant today. I’m sure, we have all heard of The Boy who cried Wolf and The Tortoise and the Hare? Well, there are loads more and I want to share with you, a less well-known one (well at least to me) with you today:

The Fox and The Stork
A fox one day invited a stork to dine with him and, wishing to be amused at his expense, put the soup which he had for dinner in a large flat dish, so that, while he himself could lap it up easily, the stork could only dip in the tips of his long bill. Stork, bearing his treatment in mind, invited the fox to take dinner with him. He, in his turn, put some minced meat in a long and narrow-necked vessel, into which he could easily put his bill, whilst Master Fox was forced to be content with licking what ran down the sides of the vessel. The fox then remembered his old trick, and could not but only admit that the stork had well paid him out.

The moral at the end of this one says: ‘A joke is often returned with interest.’ I think it can signify others though, like; ‘What goes around, comes around.’ Or ‘treat people as you are treated’… or we could argue that the stork was wrong to act like that as ‘two wrongs don’t make a right.’ Alternatively, we can think about the actual moral and link it to the simplicity of the story and think it how it reflects life. People play jokes; they take the ‘piss’. People then return this and ‘get their own back’. That’s life. I’m sure ,we have all been the fox at some point and also the stork πŸ˜‰

I’ll keep reading the fables… I love thinking about them on a simple and then a deeper level. Fun, childhood bedtime stories, yet also so much more πŸ™‚

fox and stork

XSXS

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David Mulgrew
    May 16, 2013 @ 19:43:36

    Something strange just happened.

    How did I know more about a book than you did?

    I’m glad you now know the history of Aesop so the balance of the world can be restored.

    I should point out however that the other book fact I know is that they are usually made of paper.

    Reply

  2. Sam Gray
    May 16, 2013 @ 19:45:26

    So you knew the story of the stork and the fox? Or you knew about Aesop…. which isn’t really knowledge of a book lol

    Reply

  3. David Mulgrew
    May 16, 2013 @ 19:47:56

    You couldn’t let me have it could you?

    Reply

  4. Sam Gray
    May 16, 2013 @ 19:48:58

    Lol, if you had known the story already I would have been impressed!

    Reply

  5. David Mulgrew
    May 16, 2013 @ 19:49:12

    Actually I think I knew the story from TV. Books are for people without a TV

    Reply

  6. indytony
    May 16, 2013 @ 20:06:51

    I love the simple elegance of Aesop’s Fables. Thanks for sharing this one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

