Miles of Smiles

Today it has rained. My work day hasn’t exactly gone to plan. Nothing major has happened, don’t get me wrong. I am just feeling a little blah; I don’t feel at all like smiling. But I was reading some inspirational quotes on the internet (I was actually looking for something – I don’t just do that to cheer myself up…. wine has done that!) … and  saw one about smiling:

‘I smile because I have absolutely no idea what is going on!’

I have that on a fridge magnet actually and it reminds me a lot of myself. I do smile a lot – I normally manage it even when I am in a bad mood. You know why? Because it makes me feel good/or better and if I am already feeling happy then it helps it to radiate outwards! I feel good and it may help others to feel good  too! More people should do it on a daily basis.

I like to smile inanely at whoever I pass in the street or the corridor at work. My reasoning for this: I would much rather someone think I am insane than think I am grumpy! So I smile away and take that risk 😉

A smile can mean so many things: a greeting, an acknowledgment, an agreement  – all are positive. Another one of my favourite smile quotes is:

‘Everyone smiles in the same language.’

How lovely and oh so true. Language can be a barrier but a smile can say so much and everyone knows it is a positive expression. Smiling can bring people together and by god our world needs more of it. So turn your frowns upside down (even on a rainy evening like this!) and just SMILE. Remember… as grannies often say; ‘frowns can give you wrinkles!’ And they’ve lived long enough to know how important a simple smile can be 🙂

‘One lonely person.

One other lonely person.

One shy smile,

one friendly grin.

Two happy people.’

So spread some happiness today… even if you don’t feel it inside yourself. Once you smile and someone reciprocates…

… you will be smiling on the inside too 🙂

XSXS

Leave a Reply

