Would you be wonderful if it wasn’t for the weather?

I do like a positive thought on a Monday evening to kick start the week. My Monday has been a little challenging with certain things at work and then, when cooking dinner, my result:

Spaghetti a la cremation!

Spaghetti a la cremation!

So I figured I needed to focus on some optimistic thoughts (and put my culinary skills firmly away for the evening). And don’t we all need to focus on the good things in life? All the time? Look on the bright side, look for that silver lining…. to add another cliché…. this sometimes is like ‘looking for a needle in a haystack’ but it is vital that we do.  My title for this post Would you be wonderful if it wasn’t for the weather? are lyrics to a Corrs song Would you be happier? It draws on the ideas that if one thing was different/better/improved then would we be happier? My conclusion, and the song’s is the same: no. Life is never perfect. So we can’t have a perfect life. One of my favourite quotes on this subject:

postive

Something is always going to wrong and there are going to be things to face. Your day may be punctuated with annoying little chores; it doesn’t mean it can’t be a good day. You’ll look back in twenty years’ time and not remember that tedious form you had to fill in, but the great joke you heard at lunch. Or even remembering the negative things in a positive way. E.g. my spaghetti incident above. It was a bit scary at the time and it was quite worrying that I froze in the midst of the emergency blaze… but as soon as my boyfriend got home, it was a joke; a funny story and one to be shared.

The irritating things in life aren’t going anywhere, unfortunately. We have to co-exist and rise above them. I’m in a quotey mood:

happy

We all have the same shit thrown at us, but it how you deal with it that affects your happiness. Would I be happier if the weather was better? I am the first to say that a little sunshine makes you feel better, but all in all, I wouldn’t. My day would be the same whatever the elements decide to do. Sorry, I can feel another quote  resurfacing… just call me a walking quote dictionary:

rain

So some positive quotes for a Monday evening and also some tough love; just get on with it and make the best of it! Causing a small kitchen fire this evening, hasn’t made my day worse. It has actually given me something to laugh at and something to blog about 😉

Keep looking for the positives!

Leave a Reply

