Midnight Ma(dne)ss!

This Christmas eve, I went to Midnight Mass. If you read regularly or know me well, you will understand that I am not religious. This does not stop me banging on about different religions. I am against organised religion per say, but I am fascinated by different ones. So, Midnight Mass as an organised service in a church was perfect for me, naturally 😉 Haha. I really went to see what it was like out of curiosity – and because my sister and her friend were going anyway.

Never again.

This is not a bash against the Catholic Church and I am not insulting the religion (or anyone that follows it) in any way. I just want to give you my honest interpretation  – in my usual humorous way- about my Christmas Eve experience. Tongue firmly in cheek.

I was told by regular goers, that this particular church was an informal/uncliquey kind of one – so great to just try out as a one-off. We arrived at about half 11 – and couldn’t find the right entrance, which speaks volume in itself really 😉 We then sat on wooden pews ready to hear some great words. My sister’s friend’s Mum got up to light a candle and knelt down as she entered the altar. My sister thought her knee had gone again, but we soon realised that she was praying, as everyone did this when they get up 😉 Unless there any many people with dodgy knees in our town! Haha.

We also lit candles for our late grandparents. 10 pence a candle! I think I was very generous giving 50 pence for mine 😉 I then bumped into a friend of a friend, who I last saw on a hen do last summer. It was one of those awkward moments when you’re thinking ‘Ooh I didn’t know you were religious!’ I, instead, asked, ‘Do you come here often then?’ Which she probably took as a come on, and it definitely wasn’t that kind of church – not a singles and mingles eve! Ha!

The whole thing was all quite sombre really and it wasnt able to capture by mood of excitable/happiness/relaxation that I feel on the eve of Christmas. I kept thinking, ‘I could be at home watching Christmas films and sipping Baileys.’ But no. I was amongst other spirits…… and being told constantly to repent for my sins. Well to me, being sinful is eating that second piece of cheesecake. I didn’t want to pray to be forgiven for sins. I mean, I’m not perfect or anything, but I don’t do anything horribly wrong that I need to ask forgiveness for.

It was all just too religious for me. Silly thing to say I know. I just wanted some talk about family and importance of caring for people etc – and a few nice carols. Oh and a mince-pie and a glass of wine wouldn’t have gone a miss either!

At the end, we were meant to embrace people near us – and as I discovered after, say: ‘May peace be with you!’  – I did not do this. I exclaimed ‘Merry Christmas!’ Haha. Luckily , it was just to my sis.

All very interesting and I was in awe at all the people, who clearly attend regularly and drink in every word (as I drink in every sip of wine!)….. but as I have said before, I don’t need services like that to give me faith and purpose. I was hoping it would make me a feel a little more Christmassy that’s all. It did not. But as I always say at new experiences, ‘If all else fails, I’ll get a story for my blog out of it!’ 😉

I got home at 1.15am – and all I could think that I had to be up in 6 hours to visit family before putting the turkey in. You clearly have to be very organised and get by on lack of sleep to attend organised religious activities. Good for you, if you do. But next year, I’ll be at home singing Christmas carols wildly out of tune, drinking wine and eating snacks and exclaiming ‘Merry Christmas!’ at the top of voice. And not feel one ounce of guilt at my sins 😉

Hope you all had a lovely Christmas, whether it was religious or not. 🙂

XSXS

Leave a Reply

